Hanging in There!

Photo by Dawn M. Wayman

Hanging in there (just like this raindrop) is what I’ve been up to for the past 6 months or so.

I took this picture about a year ago in my cousin’s backyard following an afternoon rainfall.  At that time, I thought it would just be an interesting picture…it reminded me of a National Geographic picture I had seen, so I wanted to capture it.  Little did I know at that time that this picture would reflect a bit of my life in the future.

When I decided to make a major life decision 6 months ago, I didn’t fully understand all of the emotions that I would feel in the months to follow.  Naturally, I thought there would be a time of mourning, but I thought I would just move on with life with no regrets within a short matter of time, but that was far from the truth.  I truly believe surviving this has been the toughest challenge of my life, but like the raindrop I captured in this image, I’ve been able to just hang in there.  I’ve felt like giving up so many times, but I haven’t fallen.  I’m convinced that the only reason I haven’t fallen is because our awesome God has been holding me up. not letting me lose my mind, not allowing me to completely shutdown to life, not allowing me to get depressed, and not allowing me to DIE in this season!  Isn’t that just amazing, that when one doesn’t even want to live, He doesn’t let us fall!  And because He didn’t let me fall, I can look back on the other side of this experience and appreciate every moment of it.

I wish I knew what direction my life was going to take next, but I have not a clue and surprisingly I’m okay with that reality.  I’m learning that maybe my life doesn’t have to be as planned as I once felt it needed to be.  Is there anything wrong with just allowing life to unfold organically before us?  I think not, so I’m just going to hang in there and see where life shall take me.  Until next time…

Dawn

2 thoughts on “Hanging in There!

  1. Keep hanging…your feelings and emotions are as natural as that raindrop in the photo…there are seasons to life….I believe Spring is coming in yours…I am proud of you and jealous of your photography skills…

Leave a Reply

