A Renewed Commitment?

Photo by Dawn M. Wayman

Without a doubt, my commitment to embracing a healthier way of living  has waxed and waned for quite some time now, but over this past year, with the help of an ironic gift and an awesome accountability partner (@ the Maryland Athletic Club/MAC…the subject of today’s picture), I have done a pretty good job of staying committed to working out and eating healthier.  I’ll admit that it was tough at the beginning and I’ve fallen off the bandwagon for a few months, but I’m feeling like I’m back in my groove. 
 
 The challenge is staying committed to living healthy in this society.  Our taste buds have literally been trained to love butter, sugar, salt and many other things that aren’t great for our physical body, while healthy foods (you know, organic foods, produce, and such) are so expensive that few people can afford to eat them on a daily basis.  It’s so easy to just swing by the fast food joint and pick up a burger at a low cost when you consider the time and cost of preparing a healthy meal.
 
In addition to the food challenges, our schedules are more hectic than ever before with work, social organizations, children (well, not for me, but generally speaking…), church, and a host of other things, all of which are quite important, but make exercising on “most days of the week” as encouraged virtually impossible.  That is, if one wants to get a reasonable amount of rest and maintain their sanity.  This makes healthy living tough for me…I know the experts say weight loss and healthy living is controlled mainly by our diet, but for me, it seems to be controlled by my exercise level.  Perhaps that’s because I eat better when I exercise…no need to burn 700 calories and then eat 2,000 calories in one meal!  Either way, I’ve decided that I’m going to carve out time and energy to focus on being committed to engaging in healthier behaviors.  The great thing for me is that I have some great friends who enjoy cooking healthy foods.  Because of them, I’ve expanded my palette and am much more open to eating foods that I didn’t grow up with, so that makes things interesting, fun and most of all, doable.
 
So, I guess it’s fitting to say, I’m fired up and ready to go!  My goal moving forward is to burn 3,500 calories each week through exercise alone, and then cut many of those unhealthy, yet ever so flavorful, calorie-packed, foods from my diet.  It has been tough and will continue to be tough…I love sweets, actually, I’m addicted to sugar…but I’m committed to a healthier way of living!
 
Until next time…
Dawn
3 thoughts on “A Renewed Commitment?

  1. I love that and I’m sure many others, including myself, will try to follow that same promise….many blessings to you for the inspiration…

  2. Hey! I hear you in this. I’m finding that I’m indulging more and using self-control now that holidays are here. I need to remember that it’s my right and responsibility to care for my body! Great reminder.

  3. D., you’ve hit the nail on the head. All of the reasons you’ve presented are the very reasons why we can’t lose weight, exercise regularly, and change our eating habits. We’ve got a chemicalized mentality toward food ’cause we are addicted to sugar, salt, crispy skin, carbonated and flavored drinks, candy, and more. I appreciate you for calling it like it ’tis. I’m trying to get to the place that I won’t eat anything that has a face or a mother. I am working on it, and I am not there yet — but I want my eating and food selections to honor God.

Leave a Reply

