No More Excuses…I’m My Own Change Agent!

Over the past few weeks, I’ve spent a lot of time observing the behaviors of myself and others.  I’ve quietly watched, listened, and, in turn, thought about a number things, but one thought resonated deeply within me.  It was simply “No More Excuses!”  I have decided that this will be my mantra for 2012!

As people, we have a tendency to make an excuse for why we choose to remain in our current state of being rather than make a decision to make some changes that will allow us to be in the state of being we desire to be in.  I find myself talking a lot about how I need to make some things happen, how I want to be in this place or that place, how I want to do this, not that, and such, but I am now forced to ask myself the question, “What am I doing to be the change agent in my own life?”

I talk a lot about the direction I want to see my life take, but I’m not so sure that I’m taking the steps to get there.  For instance, I’ve gained a few pounds over the past few months.  I’ve got a great excuse for this, but if I want to get back on track, I have to let go of the excuses and start engaging in behaviors that will yield results (the homemade  cookies are not helping the cause).  I could give a number of similar scenarios in other areas of my life, and the same principle holds true.  I state that I want to observe a change, yet I’m not taking the appropriate steps to get there.  But…in 2012 (well, really starting today!), I’ve decided to be the change agent in my life!

At one point in my life, I definitely did not have the confidence to step out and take the risk that is innately associated with change, but that’s no longer the case.  Change is still difficult to embrace, but I fully recognize that in order to find winning results, you have to experience the challenges of change.  At different points in life we have to expand our skill set, expand our circle of friends and associates, put some restrictions on our behaviors, cut off some friends, take a stand for what we believe in, do something that everyone else thinks is crazy, be uncomfortable, cry, smile, laugh, feel hurt, feel anger, show love, and go through growing pains.  These are elements of change that are needed if we choose to no longer make excuses for not being where we want to be.

For 2012, the excuses are thrown out the window and door.  It’s time for me to be about the change.  I am my own CHANGE AGENT!

It is easier to find an excuse than to find a reason. -Doug Brown

There’s a difference between interest and commitment. When you’re interested in doing something, you do it only when circumstance permit. When you’re committed to something, you accept no excuses, only results.

-Art Turock

3 thoughts on “No More Excuses…I’m My Own Change Agent!

  1. An excellent post and an extremely bold proclamation. Now let’s see the action behind the words. Remember to remain focused on your goals and desired end results as you push through the quitting points. And there will be times you feel like quitting. Subject yourself to accountability and do not allow anybody or anything in your life that will not aid you in reaching your goals. If it does not build you up eliminate it because it will only tear you down or hold you back. If you have not read Napoleon Hill’s book “Think and Grow Rich” please do. You will see that it’s not about money but more about success principles, passion and being persistent in order to achieve your burning desires. Who will you share your goals and dreams with so that YOU can constantly monitor your progress? What does your written plan that will ensure your success look like? How will you measure your success?

  2. I read somewhere that ‘change’ is the only constant thing; everything must change! To me, the key to living through the “challenges of change,” is balance — coming from a pure place, knowing your core, your center, your non-negotiables and making a conscious commitment to be at peace with oneself, as you are learning to do more of. You are in a good place in your spiritual growth — by recognizing and deepening the interconnection between the mind, body, and the spirit. Here is a thoughtful book which will help to fuel your new-found sense of self: A Life of Being, Having, and Doing Enough by Wayne Muller. I love your writing, Dawn! Keep ’em coming.

Leave a Reply

