God’s Grace

This afternoon I had the opportunity to attend the 21st birthday party of an absolutely amazing family friend, Amy, and I was reminded of God’s Amazing Grace!  When Amy was born, she weighed less than a pound, less than the weight of a canned good from the grocery store, that’s hard to imagine, but our awesome God has truly shown his grace and kept Amy and her family over the years.  Amy is such a loving young lady, the absolute closest individual to perfect that I know.  As so many people stated over and over again at her party, Amy is God’s gift of love to all of us who know her.

For her 21st birthday, Amy had a piano recital and family dinner celebration.  I must admit, I was greatly impressed by her skills on the ivory keys, but perhaps the most beautiful part of the day was that for HER birthday, Amy blessed us with the gift of song and the sharing of her miraculous story.  (I won’t share it because prayerfully there will be a book published about her life story in the near future.) This isn’t behavior seen in the typical 21 year old, who would traditionally head to the bar for their first “legal” drink or away with friends for a birthday weekend bash.  I certainly wasn’t looking forward to a family dinner to celebrate turning 21, in fact, I think I went to the slots with my grandmother for my 21st, but this is why Amy is such a blessing to us all.  God created her to be unique and perfect in His sight.

Amy and her family have shown me what it truly means to love and what it truly means to be a fighter and trust God even in the most challenging seasons of life.  Through Amy, God has shown me that His grace is indeed sufficient and sustaining.  Tonight, I thank God for the beautiful life of Amazing Amy!

Leave a Reply

