Long Time, No Post!

Sunset at the Fort

My cousin reminded me on Friday that it’s been quite some time since I’ve posted anything to my blog.  I was fully aware of this and have been wanting to post over the past few weeks, but I just couldn’t find the words to write.  I’ve been in a bit of a funk and just feeling some kinda way…not physically sick, not ill, but not feeling well.  I truly believe that when one area of our life is out of balance, it affects our entire being.  So, my whole being has been a bit off kilter.  While visiting the American Visionary Art Museum here in Baltimore on Friday, I saw a quote that summarized what I’ve been feeling pretty well…”We all go through feeling absolutely trapped before we can truly break free!”  That’s it…that’s how I’ve been feeling…TRAPPED…STUCK…LIMITED…and it’s been getting the best of me.

I won’t go into the details because frankly, I don’t think they’re important; the gist of it is simply that I’ve been allowing people and things to get me off focus and out of my zone.  I’ve allowed outside forces to manipulate my thoughts and control my actions and leave me angry, disgruntled, and feeling hopeless, trapped, stuck, and limited.  I had one of my aha moments this weekend where I was reminded that I have so much of life ahead of me.  I’m in this season of my life for an appointed time, and then it’s on to the next chapter, right?

So, given this moment, I’m back to living the life God has granted me.  While out for a ride last night at Fort McHenry, we just so happened to be looking out over the waters of the Bay as the sun began to set and I got a chance to snap this picture.  This picture reminds me of two things:

  • The sun will indeed set on this chapter in my life at God’s command, and when it rises, it will indeed be new day that hasn’t been seen by anyone, including me.

 

  • It may  be time for me to set my eyes on the distant horizon…those goals and dreams that I have for my life may seem too far away to reach, but if I just keep working towards them, one day they will come to fruition.

Until next time…peace!

DMW

 

Leave a Reply

