I’m Going Somewhere!

cropped-cropped-img_0092-version-2.jpg

 

It’s amazing how life takes us full circle sometimes.  This morning, I did my usual…I woke up and went to church.  My plan was to attend the early service and then go visit my folks for a little while, but (not by chance) I ended staying for the second service.  It’s amazing how God works!  Not too long ago, I wrote a post entitled, “Where’s My Faith?“.  On that particular day, I was feeling rather down in the dumps about the lemons life had dealt me.  I was mad, angry, and frustrated about my life not unfolding in the way I had hoped.  Fast forward to this morning’s church service…the sermon text came from Mark 4 where the disciples found themselves in the middle of stormy seas and Jesus commanded the waters to be still.  What caught my attention in the passage was when Jesus asked the disciples, “Why are you so afraid?  Do you still have no faith?”…when I wrote the blog mentioned above, I wouldn’t say that I was afraid per se, but my faith tank was definitely hovering on empty.  But today, I was so encouraged because I was reminded that when we’re going somewhere in life, by default we will face some challenges.  If we never face any challenges in our respective lives, then we’re likely not going anywhere.

Trying to achieve a life dream, trying to improve one’s state of being, trying to make a difference in this world…these all require us to take a step of faith, faith and easy don’t go together, yet, I was reminded this morning that life and death indeed lie in the power of the tongue making crazy things seem doable.

I have a tendency to be hard on myself.  I frequently compare my current place in life to others, it’s not a good habit, but it’s what I’ve done far too often – it’s a reminder that I’m going somewhere and this invisible measuring stick helps me to gauge my progress.  However, moving forward, I’m going to try real hard to focus less on measuring my progress and more on speaking positive thoughts and life into my own being.  I don’t have to see the promise to believe that it’s on the way!  I don’t have to see the final version of me to believe that God has created me to be an amazing person who will have a major impact on this world!  I don’t have to see the new house to believe that I will be a homeowner sooner rather than later!  I don’t have to see so many of my hopes and dreams to speak them and believe them, my faith is enough…BUT, if I don’t speak life into my own being, I can be certain that those things I long for will never come to pass.

So for all of those challenges that are weighing me down, I won’t allow the negative aspects of these thigns to invade my thoughts any longer, rather, I will speak life over those situations, those people, and those things!  Spring is just around the corner, but I’m already believing that it’s a new season in my life!  I don’t know about you, but I’m going somewhere!  My destiny lies ahead!

Until next time…

2 thoughts on “I’m Going Somewhere!

  1. Yes, it’s true … you are going somewhere, and most often, it’s best that we just go by faith, and not by sight! Peace & Blessings to you; your writings are a blessing to others!

Leave a Reply

