Patience…

I’ve been wanting to blog about patience for a few weeks now, but I just haven’t been able to find the words to say.  Making the blanket statement that being patient is tough and trying is news to no one, including me, but I’ve found that life has taught me a lot of lessons in patience over the past few weeks.  I would argue that my lessons have mainly come from observing how some of my friends are coping with some challenging situations in their life, but I’ve also had a few insights of my own.

I, like many other folks, seek instant gratification in all things.  I just naturally think things are going to go my way, when I want them to, but I’ve learned that patience is developed by going through some challenging life experiences.  And until one is able to accept and be at peace with whatever the end result turns out to be, there’s still more to learn.

I have a few friends who have lost jobs over the past 2 years.  Thankfully, I’ve never had that experience, so I can’t truly to relate to what they are going through.  I believe I would absolutely lose my mind if I were in their shoes…I’m single, one income, rent, car payment, gas and electric bill, cell phone bill, and the list goes on…I struggle to fathom in my human mind how I would cope with or respond to such a situation.  Yet, my friends have responded with amazing poise.  Whereas, I would be angry, complaining, and worried about how I was going to make it without moving back home with my folks, they’ve remained calm.  One friend in particular has been such an encouragement to my soul.

Despite losing his job under what some would call unfair circumstances, he has stood firm in his faith.  When door after door seems to remain closed in his life, he has never once spoken negatively about everything that is going on, rather his responses have been, “My God has never failed me yet, so I know He will come through” and “I don’t know what God is doing on my behalf, but I trust Him”.  Wow…what patience!  I just don’t have it in me, but that doesn’t mean I don’t need it.  Frankly, I pray that one day I’ll have a compassionate response like this to the challenges of life…but I’m not there just yet.

I find myself at a place in life where my patience with God is running thin.  My faith is extremely important to me and I feel God calling me to do more for Him, yet I feel like He hasn’t granted me the desires of my heart which makes me want to turn my back and do things my way.  Why should I do more for God when He isn’t doing more for me…that’s the question that resonates in my mind.  I know that’s not how I, as a Christian, should live or think, but I have to be honest with where I’ve been mentally.  In some ways I’ve been over it, but I’ve recently been reminded that being patient will carry one a long way.

Members of my church family have been praying every weekday morning during this Lenten Season.  As Resurrection Sunday approaches, we gathered tonight on Maundy Thursday to walk and share communion as a family at a local park.  As I was riding home, I was talking to the Lord about my frustrations with Him and my life and this thought was impressed upon my spirit…

Perhaps God continues to keep you in a holding pattern because you won’t let go of your need to be in control.  Perhaps God can’t do the amazing, impossible, and unbelievable in your life because you won’t take a faith step and just trust Him.  Perhaps you lack patience because you lack faith which prevents you from believing that eye hasn’t seen nor has ear heard all of the amazing things God can do in your life if you can just wait on Him.  Perhaps…it’s time to let go of your will and your desire to do things your way, and allow God to step in and work things out on your behalf in His time.  Why not give God a chance to prove Himself?

Well…there’s not much I can say to that!  So…I’ll try to real hard to be patient and trust God to be at work at my life in all things and through all things at all times!

Peace!

 

Leave a Reply

