Daily Gratitude…

I was talking with a friend earlier today about making adjustments to my daily routine so that I can have more time to relax, while still feeling like I’ve accomplished the things that I’ve set out to do.  Over the course of our conversation, my friend asked me had I ever considered keeping a Gratitude Journal.  Surprisingly, I have never heard of such, but I was immediately intrigued by the idea of recording daily a few things for which I am grateful in the present moment.  Just think about how encouraging this can be, well at least in my current world I find it to be encouraging.  To be able to take on a positive attitude about even the negative things going on truly is looking at life from a new perspective.  How amazing is it that even on my seemingly worst day, I can be grateful for the small things like having a brief phone conversation with a friend whom I have not seen in a long time or being able to take a summer vacation with family members who I also consider friends?

We don’t live in a grateful society…people are quick to complain about everything – quality of service, the amount of time it takes to get things done, the cost of things, issues with our children, spouses, church folks, friends, coworkers, etc. – we have been conditioned to look at life through a negative lens…but, just as with film processing, the negative does not reflect what the actual picture looks like.  If we only look at the negative, but never look at the print, we miss out on the beauty of the image.  The same is true with our lives…if we only look at our lives through negative eyes, we never get to see the beauty of the world unfolding around us.    Despite how things may seem, there’s some good in everything!  So today, I’m digging a little deeper and searching for the things to be grateful for…

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

