Thank God for Groceries!

Welp…it’s day 4 of the federal government shutdown and I’m so over it!

Last week, I was content with having a day or two off…it would give me a chance to get a few things done around the house, and catch up on some missed appointments.  But…this shutdown is lingering on a bit too long now…I’m starting to get bored and I’m not looking forward to getting a reduced paycheck!  I need to Congress to get it together real soon!  This week, I’ve gone to the dentist, I’ve gotten the oil changed in my car…I’ve done laundry, I’ve baked, I’ve planned my Thanksgiving dinner meal, I’ve spent some time reading…the only thing left is a trip to the gym (I’ve been intentionally avoiding that!).

Despite my frustration about not being at work (because I absolutely LOVE my new job), I’ve decided to find the small things to be grateful for in this particular moment.  For me, one of the blessings in this situation is that I have enough groceries for weeks in my house!  It just so happens that when I was grocery shopping a couple of weeks ago, there were a number of things that were on sale, so I picked up more food than usual.  (Rarely do I spend more than $30 at the grocery store in a single week.)  Over time, I’ve learned to adapt and be conscious of how I spend my money on groceries…for the most part, I only buy food that’s on sale, I purchase larger packages of meat, split it up, and freeze smaller packs that can be used across several weeks, I eat beans, I buy frozen vegetables, and I force myself to stick to these rules.  Until the shutdown, I didn’t really think much of my grocery shopping habits, but now that I have to be overly conscious of my spending at least for the next few weeks, I’m grateful that I’ve been so crazy with my shopping habits.  Folks laugh at me when I say I eat whatever meat is on sale…my friends at church tease me all the time about eating beans, but I’m so glad I’m content with both of these scenarios now.  It’s paying off in the long run.

So, today I’m thankful that God has given me enough food to survive this little storm of life.  It’s the small stuff that makes me smile!

Until next time…

2 thoughts on “Thank God for Groceries!

  1. Sorry for the mistake. Of course I meant … “getting it”! It does my heart good to see the growth that is taking place.

Leave a Reply

