Abundant Blessings!

Paint Nite Abundance TreeThis morning I find myself seated at a desk in the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services working in the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health (OASH), not one of the many offices that function out of OASH, but the direct Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health.  Just what I expected for my life, right…not necessarily!  As a matter of fact, it seems a bit crazy if I must say so myself.  If I’m completely honest…I don’t think I ever really imagined or believed this opportunity would present itself in my life.  Why would it…I don’t have a PhD, I’m not a physician, I’m by no means the smartest or most innovative public health researcher or practitioner, I don’t have any inside connections in DC, yet I’m here!  It makes absolutely no sense that I’m here working on a national public health campaign, but that’s my present reality and I’m fully convinced that it’s simply because God’s favor has provided me with abundant blessings…more blessings than I can count, more blessings than I deserve, and more blessings that I can collect in a container to put on display to the world.

This opportunity is certainly a reminder that the race is not given to the swift nor the strong, but the one who endures until the end.  The one who harbored so much self-hate that they didn’t feel worthy of a blessing, the one who life seemingly knocked down time after time, yet they still found the courage to get up, put one foot in front of the other, and walk in a forward direction. That’s the one who is today walking in an abundant blessings!

The fighters in life may walk with their heads hung down sometimes and they may walk dazed and confused at other times, but they keep walking…that’s the key…somewhere deep inside, they keep believing that life will get better, they keep believing that one day every painful life experience will have a positive outcome.  That’s me…I used to take everything deeply personal, I used to believe that no one wanted to see me succeed, I used to think that it was me facing the world all by myself, I used to struggle to see my worth, I used to believe I was inferior and undesirable, but God somehow never let me completely give up.  I was limping and emotionally weary, but I stayed in the race, and now I’m living in the midst of my abundant blessings!

I’m hopeful today because there’s so much life still ahead of me.  I’ve learned that I don’t have to settle for just enough, I don’t have to settle for what others say I’m worthy of, I don’t have to settle for others approval, I don’t have to settle…no, my life and my worth aren’t defined by external factors, I’m who God created me to be, nothing more, nothing less!  I’m fearfully and wonderfully made, the head not the tail, the lender not the borrower, worthy of favor and abundant blessings!

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

