Another Year Gone!

It’s December 31st…the last day of another year, and I couldn’t be happier!  2014 has been a great year for me…I certainly made some mistakes along the way, but I also got some things right!!!  I experienced a great deal of personal growth, I found my happy place at work, I allowed myself to develop authentic and vulnerable relationships with people in my life, I took a leap of faith and ventured into the world of seminary, and perhaps most importantly, I had some important AHA moments that freed me from some unspoken burdens that I’d been carrying on my shoulders.  All of these thingSandy Cove Sunset2s together led to an amazing year in my life and after recently being reminded of the brevity of this life, I’m even more excited about what 2015 holds!

I believe 2014 freed good ol’ conservative me to live…I traditionally find comfort in playing it safe and knowing how things look ahead of me, but I’m learning that life is really lived when we let go of our preconceived notions of what our best life looks like and just allow it to unfold before us.  I struggle with this notion even as I type it, but I also realize that one never knows or reaches his/her full potential when the brakes are never fully released in our lives.  I think that’s what I’m most looking forward to in 2015.  Now that I’ve found comfort in letting life unfold organically, I’m excited about the possibilities that are ahead…it’s a faith walk!

So, what’s in store in 2015…I certainly don’t know it all just yet, I can only hope for some things.  But I’m looking forward to starting my second semester of seminary in January, going on a missions trip with my church to Jamaica in June, settling into a new job in July and maybe somewhere in the mix love will find me or perhaps I’ll become a homeowner or perhaps I’ll finally get started on writing that book of devotions, and if none of these things happen, maybe some amazing life opportunity will drop into my path!  Whatever the case may be, I know it will be another amazing year because we serve an awesome God who orchestrates our lives perfectly…He makes no mistakes and He makes all things well!

And so, 2014 was great, but I believe 2015 will be even greater!  Until next time…celebrate life!

Leave a Reply

