Love is in the Little Things!

Love CardsOver the past week and a half, my perspective on life has been shaken at its very core.  I’ve been challenged to think deeper about my faith, my discipline level, my motivating factors, my basic interactions with people, and even my view of love.

I’ve always had my thoughts on what love is, what love looks like, and how love expresses itself, but I think my thoughts were all wrong.  In the past, love for me looked like a scientist or engineer, love was Joe Cool, love looked good on paper…love was based on very material things.  But, I’m learning that true love isn’t found simply in the criteria I had identified for myself, there’s more to it than that, honest love is found in the heart of a person and it manifests itself in the little things.

I’ve been blessed to cross paths with someone who truly loves me for me with my jacked up little big toe, extra weight, crazy fears about relationships, and over the top insecurities.  No doubt, he loved me before Jamaica, but I don’t think I fully appreciated his love until the Jamaica experience…the missions trip had absolutely nothing to do with missions work for me, did I mention that earlier, it was about me growing and learning.  I now feel the love he has for me in an even greater way when he prays for me and us at the most random times…I now appreciate his love for me in a different way when he shares his dreams and visions with me…where I would have rejected his small acts of kindness or been quick to criticize him before, I now understand that he’s simply showing me how much he loves me in his own way!  Jamaica broke me down, it didn’t take away my uniqueness, but it broke down some walls that were preventing me from living life fully!  It made me all emotional and mushy (I’ve cried more since the middle of that trip than I have all year).  These outward emotions certainly aren’t things that have characterized me in my past, but I’m okay with this.  I can be vulnerable to all the wonderful feelings of love, I can show emotion, and survive even if a few folks joke me a bit.

So, I embrace love in the little, everyday things!

“He’s not perfect. You aren’t either, and the two of you will never be perfect. But if he can make you laugh at least once, causes you to think twice, and if he admits to being human and making mistakes, hold onto him and give him the most you can. He isn’t going to quote poetry, he’s not thinking about you every moment, but he will give you a part of him that he knows you could break. Don’t hurt him, don’t change him, and don’t expect for more than he can give. Don’t analyze. Smile when he makes you happy, yell when he makes you mad, and miss him when he’s not there. Love hard when there is love to be had. Because perfect guys don’t exist, but there’s always one guy that is perfect for you.” – Bob Marley

2 thoughts on “Love is in the Little Things!

  1. Hopefully you now see how your focus on the tardiness of the people and long services were only diversional smoke screens.

Leave a Reply

