A Day at the Fair!

Horse Races at the Maryland State Fair

I went to the Maryland State Fair for the first time today.  Growing up, we always went to the Delaware State Fair, it was closer to my childhood home…I remember both my parents and grandparents taking us there.  Who doesn’t love the state fair…the funnel cakes, the rides, the dust, and hot summer fun!  Today after many years of considering, I ventured out to the TImonium Fairgrounds and we had a great time.  The decision to go was rather random, I woke up this morning and discovered that there were horses races going on at the fair today, or so I thought, since I wasn’t sure if live simulcast races meant races were taking place there while being broadcasted to other tracks simultaneously, or races at other tracks were simply being simulcast.  I have zero experience in horse racing.  As a matter of fact, I’ve never been to a horse race before, and just figured today was as good as any other to check one out.  I didn’t even realize I had to pay for the schedule book…there were truly moments when I looked foolish, but I tried my best to fit in since deep down inside I really just wanted to go for the purposes of taking pictures.  I think I got some pretty neat shots…I’m a bit rusty in some true photography techniques like panning (that’s the technique used in the shot at the beginning of the post, it’s a technique used to capture the illusion of speed), but found today to be a great time to get back into the essence of photography.  Next year, Lord willing, I’d like to go in the evening…I think I could take some really cool night shots at the fair as well.

So, today’s post is really about pictures.  I hope you enjoy a few of the “unedited” images captured at the state fair.

Schedule of Today's Races

Schedule of the day’s races

Horses warming up for the race

Horses warming up for the race

Almost post time...

Almost post time…

The winning jockey

The winning jockey

Who knew the track dirt resembled beach sand...

Who knew the track dirt resembled beach sand…

One thought on “A Day at the Fair!

Leave a Reply

