Just Jump!

impossible-quote-7

It’s finally 2017…I’m excited! I’m skipping resolutions this year, and have decided to embrace a theme for the year. Yearly themes have been described as, “a word or a phrase that you choose to define what the next year of your life is going to be…an idea that should speak to you, and that should guide you to make more of the choices you think will lead you where you want to go in life and in your career. It will be your constant guide that informs your choices as you go about your life this year”.

My theme for the year is Jump.

There’s been lots of talk about jumping lately. Steve Harvey talked about this thought in a monologue following the taping of a Family Feud episode, and just a few weeks ago, he released a book entitled, Jump: Take the Leap of Faith to Achieve Your Life of Abundance! I’ve not picked up the book, but its premise really resonated with me. In his monologue, Steve said, “Eventually, you are going to have to jump. You cannot just exist in this life. You have got to try to live. If you are waking up thinking that there has got to be more to life than it is, man, believe that it is. Believe in your heart of hearts that it is, but to get to that life, you are going to have to jump.” That statement is my life story…I’ve always been driven to play life safely…comfort and security have been a t the top of my list, but this year, I’m challenging myself to chase the God of the impossible. I mean…I say with God all things are possible, but have I ever chased the God of the impossible. Have I ever assessed all of the impossible things in my life and placed them before God for the sole purpose of asking Him to do what His word says He will do? I’ve not…but in this year of jumping, I’m going to do just that! I’m going to write down every single impossibility in my life that enters my mind and ask God to do exceedingly, abundantly more than I could ever think or imagine! There’s no more time in my life to look at my dreams and say, “Impossible”. There’s no more time to look at my visions and say, “Impossible”. No, this is the year that I’ve got to have child-like faith, and truly believe that the sky is the limit in my life! It’s the year I must believe that all things ARE possible! I’m jumping and I hope others will jump too!

And, since there’s no need to delay the jump…my first jump will be in just a few weeks…I’m leaving a job that is comfortable and jumping into new territory. I’m not sure how God is going to bring it all together in the end, but I’m fully convinced that my new job is a part of a larger plan for me! So, here’s to a year where all things are possible for those who are willing to jump!

Leave a Reply

