Desperate for Lent!

The United Methodist Church describes Lent as a time a “time of repentance, fasting and preparation for the coming of Easter” and a time for “Christians to focus on their relationship with God, often choosing to give up something or to volunteer and give of themselves for others”. I view Lent as a time for me to slow down, be still, sacrifice some of my comforts, and most importantly, be intent in seeking God.

I’ve not always taken this season seriously, but this year, I’m desperate for Lent! I’m desperate for a time to slow my pace…I’m desperate for a time to be still before God…I’m desperate for a time to be intentional in studying God’s word…I’m desperate for a time of fasting and praying…I’m desperate for God – I want to see Him and feel Him and experience Him! I’m taking some huge leaps of faith in this season that are requiring me to trust God more than ever. And, I’m doing what I think is the hard work of focusing on self-care right now. I expect these two things to cause Lent to have a greater impact on my life this year. This year Lent is not so much about what I’ll give up, instead, it’s about trusting God completely and watching Him do amazing and impossible things in my life as I do a bit of walking on water.

How will you honor God during this season of Lent?

Blessings…

Leave a Reply

